CARD DECLINED

Occasionally a customer will go to pay for their groceries but will get the most haunting words known to man – card declined – Thus, fury boils over by said customer.

Thankfully, I have come up with a few steps that will assist any and all cashiers from having these customers unload their anger on to you.

1. Tell customer card was declined and more than likely one of these following answers to this news will unfold.
-“I have money on here, I know it.”
-“I just used it somewhere else. It works.”
-“WHY?!”

There could be a limit they are trying to exceed, their card could be expired and they are still trying to use it, etc. There are a few very plausible reasons as to why their card is not working. All I know is, it’s not my problem and I don’t care. I’m just the middle man. Middle lady. Whatever. Therefore, I ask the customer to try their previously declined card one more time because you honestly never know. Magic could fall upon us.

If their card is declined again, blame the machine. I repeat, BLAME THE MACHINE. It will work every single time. Ask for another form of payment and give the credit card machine a swift and playful slap. Stupid thing. *wink*

Leave a Reply

