Repeating Yourself

This has to be hands down and without a doubt my biggest pet peeve, not only at work, but in life.

Common Scenario:

Me: Your total is $18.46, please.
Customer: WHAT WAS IT?

Okay so, what was it about my eye contact, clear enunciation, and increased volume that cause you to miss what I just said?

What the customer if front of me doesn’t know is that my fingers are just grazing the top of the CLOSED sign that beckons to be put out. Therefore, I recommend you also look to your left, where there is a very clear screen which has displayed every item you have chosen to buy, the price of each of those items, and a bold and collective total, $18.46.

Otherwise, the CLOSED sign is going out and you are going down.

Leave a Reply

