Who is Abby?

I’ll tell you.

Abby Heugel is a magazine writer and editor who started blogging as a way for some additional enjoyment, and not just employment. Or at least that’s what it says on her About Abby page.

She was also awarded the 2012 “Blogger of the Year”, was one of SkinnyScoop’s Top 25 Humor Bloggers, was “Top Female Blogger” by Studio30 Plus, and was the 2nd place winner listed on Humorpress.com.

Capture

Ku-dos.

However, in addition to the above she also has five books out that are all available on Amazon. Thus, Abby Has Issues, Abby Still Has Issues: I still have issues. We all do, I Just Want to Be Alone, “You Have Lipstick on Your Teeth” and Other Things You’ll Only Hear from Your Friends In The Powder Room, and Moms are Nuts all need to be seen/read/bought by you. And me. Or, go to her Buy the Books tab on Abby Has Issues and check them out for a second.

Or read about them here.

In Abby’s first book, Abby Has Issues, Abby has formulated a series of essays that she had written on AbbyHasIssues.com. “I run mental marathons in yoga pants, eat green things from the ground and document my brilliant insights, I make you feel normal,” it says on the front cover. The entire thing was self-published, and is 150 pages of easy reading. Or easy listening, if someone is reading it to you. The cool thing is though that Abby didn’t write this book to make money. All the profits that are made from this book will go directly into an “Animals Have Issues” fund for the Humane Society. And, like Abby says, in case you need things spelled out for you, just follow these simple steps.

1. Buy the book.

2. Tell a friend, or ten.

3. Write a review on Amazon to help Abby get the word out.

4. Save a kitten and/or a puppy.

5. Enter the pantheon of awesomeness.

Capture

Then, Abby wrote another book. And as she says, “people actually buy snuggies, so I figured it was worth giving it a go again.” In a similar sequel, Abby compiles more of her neurotic essays into another book, Abby Still Has Issues.

Capture

This is what she had to say about it,

“Actually, I did it because writing is the one thing I really take pride in, the thing that keeps me afloat when I feel like I can barely keep my head above water (ahem, every day). So while this book is far from perfect or fancy — much like me, it has some issues — if I can share a little humor with even a dozen people that I am or am not related to, that are either sober or half in the bag, then it’s been worth it to me.”

Well said.

Abby’s next installment was I Just Want to Be Alone, a collection of humorous essays from Abby and 36 other hilarious female writers you may find on the web. See? (below)

Capture

Then, “You Have Lipstick on Your Teeth” and Other Things You’ll Only Hear From Your Friends in the Powder Room came out. This book holds 39 (mostly) true tales by women, for women, and about being women.

Capture

Sidenote Spectacular: It was an Amazon best-seller in only the first week. You can also read about the co-authors of this book here.

The last book Abby has been featured in lately is Moms are Nuts. Emmy winners, magazine editors, comedians, TV personalities, bestselling authors and social media superstars teamed up on this book to bring you a laugh-out-loud installment of stories about having a mom, grandmom, or mom-figure. The book has 26 stories all together and features Abby along with several other hilarious writers, whom of which you can read about here. Or you can simply glide by the site here.

In other news, Abby has also managed to keep her fake tree alive for five+ years and can still do the splits all three ways.

She can also be found on Facebook and Twitter. And I’m not going to lie, I just followed her.

After finding out all that about Abby, and just on her About page alone, she has 84 likes and 46 comments. This chick is the real deal.

Stay tuned for more.

 

6 comments

  1. I don’t know what I did to deserve such a fabulous write-up, but thank you so much! If you ever read the books, I would love to know what you think…unless you hated them. In that case, they make a wonderful coaster.

Leave a Reply

