Personal Dialect Mapping

I found this fun little do-dad as I was cruising the net Sunday night in the library. … I know. Me in the library? I almost can’t believe I made it here. I’m majorly a dorm-studier, but I am right next to the kitchen and that surprisingly gets a tad noisy at night. So here I am.

Anyways, I came across this quiz from the New York Times Journal, which is supposed to tell us the correlation between how we speak and where we are from. After answering a series of 25 questions my results concluded that I talk most like a Californian. More specifically one from either Fremont, San Jose, or Oceanside. In contrast, I differed greatly with how people talk in Jackson, Mississippi and Birmingham and Montgomery, Alabama.

Below the quiz it states that most of the questions used in this quiz were based on those in the Harvard Dialect Survey, a linguistics project that was conducted in 2002 by Bert Vaux and Scott Golder.

Now you try, How Y’all, Youse and You Guys Talk.

Leave a Reply

