I Like To Pretend I Know What I’m Doing

Here’s a challenge.

Pick ten words and identify the Monophthongal Phonemes of English AND THEN identify the Place and Manner of Articulation AND THEN identify its phonation. You’ve already moved on to another blog haven’t you? Whatever, I’ll give it whirl. Considering I have to.

Ten Words:

1. Flat

2. Crate

3. Mesh

4. Raise

5. Play

6. Sort

7. Cute

8. Jump

9. Next

10. Bother

Here we go. Number one.

Word 1: Flat

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Front/Low

Place of Articulation: Labiodental

Manner of Articulation: Fricative

Phonation: Voiced

Word 2: Crate

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Front/Middle

Place of Articulation: Alveo-Palatal

Manner of Articulation: Affricative

Phonation: Voiced

Word 3: Mesh

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Front/Middle

Place of Articulation: Bilabial

Manner of Articulation: Nasal

Phonation: Voiceless

Word 4: Raise

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Back/Middle

Place of Articulation: Palatal

Manner of Articulation: Rhotic

Phonation: Voiced

Word 5: Play

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Front/Middle

Place of Articulation: Bilabial

Manner of Articulation: Stop

Phonation: Voiced

Word 6: Sort

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Back/Middle

Place of Articulation: Post-Alveolar

Manner of Articulation: Fricative

Phonation: Voiced

Word 7: Cute

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Back/High

Place of Articulation: Alveolar

Manner of Articulation: Affricative

Phonation: Voiced

Word 8: Jump

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Central/Middle

Place of Articulation: Alveo-Palatal

Manner of Articulation: Affricative

Phonation: Voiceless

Word 9: Next

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Front/Middle

Place of Articulation: Alveolar

Manner of Articulation: Nasal

Phonation: Voiceless

Word 10: Bother

Monophthongal Vowel Phoneme: Back/Low

Place of Articulation: Bilabial

Manner of Articulation: Stop

Phonation: Voiced

Now, wasn’t that fun? I think I learned a lot here. And my cranium hurts a tad.

4 comments

  1. I honestly wish I would have done that. I might do a follow-up post more similar to what you did. I also didn’t separate by each letter, so that might help me also. Your picture made complete sense though.

    Me: OHHHHHH, now I get it.

Leave a Reply

