Creativity

The word I have chosen to add to my list of Dancing Words is proverbial. I actually heard this in real life today, and even remembered it, so five stars to me.

Proverbial is, by definition, an adjective meaning of, relating to, or resembling a proverb. Not sure of a proverb? Follow my link here, and read up. I came across this exciting word in a piece I was reading, and by exciting, I mean it is fun to say. What more do you need? Say it out loud, in slow motion even. Pro-verb-i-al. Feel the syllables. Annunciate.

Anyways, I came across this word in an assignment, for my beloved Creative Nonfiction class. A fellow student had used it, which we later found out was used in the wrong context, but whatever, it’s fun to say, remember? I’m not exactly sure how said student had come up with it, or even came across it, but it caught my eye, and therefore I underlined it. Blue-pen underlined even, so I definitely meant business.

New words always startle me a bit, like there is no way that there is a word out there I have never heard before. Just think for a second. How many words do you know? … *long sigh* Exactly. That’s the kicker though, because it’s actually similar to life. How many experiences have you encountered? How many experiences have you yet to encounter? Now, how many words have you yet to encounter? So, so many. So many. It’s exhilarating. So exhilarating in fact, that is time to incorporate new words into our vocabularies. Quit using the same ones, they’re old. They’re boring. Be creative. Be proverbial. (Doesn’t work, but you get the gist.)

5 comments

    1. Everyone is so talented, there is just so much to say. Sometimes it gets difficult because I feel like I just say the same things over and over. “Wow, this is so great.” “I love this line.” But it’s all so true.

  1. I know exactly what you mean about the startle that comes when you come across a new word. I always feel that whenever I hear a word I don’t know, people are judging me. It’s like you said, though; how am I suppose to know it if I’ve never heard of it? I like your conclusion paragraph though. Definitely made me think. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

