Wording It Up: English Language Style

Numbers dance for a lot of people I have realized. That’s a weird sentence, kind of. What I mean is, a lot of people are good at math, and I am not one of those people. The numbers dance for them, easily and without fault, making math and other similar subjects a breeze. Lucky bastards. Would I be an English major if the numbers danced for me? Probably not. Therefore, the words dance for me. And while numbers have minimal space, if any, for new creation, words prosper in this area. Thus, I introduce you to stymie.

Stymie is the word of the day for this dreary Saturday in January. It is a verb, meaning to “present an obstacle to, or stand in the way of.” Revert here to make sure I did my research correctly. This, however, seems like a perfect “word of the day” as I am the stymie in my own productivity. Check out my post on procrastination to find out why.

Stymie-Light-Regulara

2 comments

  1. I totally know what you mean. The numbers definitely don’t dance for me. But, I have to disagree that numbers have “minimal space, if any, for new creation”. I understand what you are saying, and numbers themselves don’t offer much, but mathematics does. There are so many amazing forms of art that require a good grasp on mathematics. Origami is one such art form. Here is a video showing one of my favorite origami artists (although he did pass away, his work is amazing): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4fLzPHiTjc

Leave a Reply

