Procrastination Times Infinity

Today I watched an hour-long pile of garbage on Heidi and Spencer Pratt and where they are now. Sometimes, we’ll do anything to procrastinate on our responsibilities. In my case, homework.

Dun, dun, dun.

As embarrassing as that is to admit, it is the truth. I’m honestly not too bad of a procrastinator, but this semester has hit me hard and I don’t know why. I blame winter. I also blame winter for freezing my car doors shut, which I view as a more fair excuse to loathe the cold.

Nonetheless, I am starting to see myself as Michael Scott (Steve Carell) from one of my favorite, and much adored shows, The Office. Never seen/heard of it? This should be enough to sell you.

“When I discovered YouTube, I didn’t work for five days.” – Michael Scott

While this may not be exactly me, as I don’t think I could ever get away with not doing any work for five whole days, I have been getting into the habit of napping, texting, skyping, facebooking, and all that other good stuff instead of doing actual work. So, lately I have been trying to find ways to help with this problem. After all, I don’t want this to be me.

michael-scott-quotes018

The truth of the matter is though, you cannot rely on other things to help you not procrastinate. I can’t read a chapter in a book and suddenly want to do homework for the next three hours. I can’t look up tips online and feel completely motivated. I can’t tackle that pile of homework unless … I just tackle it. Then what do you know, I can take a nap, watch crap TV, skype with my best friend, and repeat the whole damn escapade tomorrow. You are your only source for motivation. Well, not you. Me. I am my only source for motivation. This is my story. And just maybe, if I get all my homework done and beat the procrastination boogey-man, this will be me.

tumblr_m20je4GTtJ1rs8hl0o1_500

8 comments

Leave a Reply

