The Power of A Good Read

IMG_0328

I asked for books for Christmas. I’m THAT girl.

Not school books either, real actual novels. I’m talking the good stuff, too. The Great Gatsby, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Alice in Wonderland, and of course, the always funny, Tina Fey’s Bossypants. I unwrapped each one slowly after pulling them out of my stocking, and something settled inside me. Magic, probably. That’s what books hold within them; magic. Think Peter Pan. Tinkerbell. Fairy Dust.

More recently, and just within the first week of spring semester, I have finished the novel Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (I recommend Prom, too), for the second time. This, at least was an assignment. You know that feeling right before you finish the book? You’re not quite on the last page, but nearing the end, and you suddenly second-guess finishing the book and just retreating to the first page to re-read it entirely, while skipping the ending altogether? That’s when you know you’ve found a good book. Or you have post-its highlighting parts you liked, lines you fell in love with, and images you couldn’t get out of your head. Like me.

Example:

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

“David stares at Mr. Neck, looks at the flag for a minute, then picks up his books and walks out of the room. He says a million things without saying a word. I make a note to study David Petrakis. I have never heard a more eloquent silence.” (page 57).

Magic.

Check it out here, you won’t be sorry.

http://madwomanintheforest.com/youngadult-Speak/

5 comments

  1. I’m not alone! Getting books for Christmas. Carefully peeling back the wrapping so as not damage the book, then gently sliding it out to hold it in hands that are ready to turn to page one. I love it. Every moment. I remember a book I read, “Only the Good Spy Young” by Ally Carter (The fourth in the Gallagher Girl series) and I was so into the book that I didn’t even notice I was on the last page until I flipped it and saw white space starring back at me. Now these are the types of books where the entire series is a big story line, and of course something really significant had just happened and then WHAM! I have to wait a whole year for the next one? Ugh, I was so upset that she left me (and the characters) alone in that predicament. Now don’t get confused, because this really was a brilliant way to end the story. It kept me at the edge of my seat and left me there until the next book came out. I just didn’t want to have to wait!

    It’s also hard is when a really good series is coming to a close. I feel like as soon as I read the last page of the last book, the journey will be over. I’m one of those readers that gets pulled into the story completely. I’m no longer reading on my bed, I’m trading herbs for potions, I’m in the rafters watching my target, I’m having tea with a hare and hatter, I’m searching for the great white whale…I live the stories! Then when it is over, it’s like a little bit of my heart got caught between the pages and my mind is still in the world that I just placed back on the shelf.

  2. I asked for books as well, as well as an electronic tea kettle with a temperature setting.
    ^ I think that might be called growing up, but I’m not sure.

  3. “I have never heard a more eloquent silence.” I like that.

    You have to write about Gatsby after you read it. Or at least talk to me about it, or something. Like Speak, it’s magic.

Leave a Reply

